, , , , , , , , , , ,

Each of the 101 “départements” in France has been allowed to increase the stamp duty (“droits de mutation”) on property transaction from 5.09% to 5.80% as of the 1st of March 2014. Please read our previous post “French stamp duty to rise from 5.09% to 5.80% as of 1st of March 2014″.  This was supposed to be a temporary increase up to the 28th of February 2016, however the French Parliament has recently decided to turn it into a permanent increase

As per January 2015, only 5 “départements” of the French main territory, have not increased their stamp duty, which therefore remains at 5.09%:

  • Indre (36, Chateauroux area)
  • Isère (38, Grenoble area, and part of the Alps)
  • Mayenne (53, Laval area)
  • Morbihan (56 Vannes, Golfe du Morbihan, part of South Britanny)
  • Paris (75)

… and 2 overseas “départements”:

  • Martinique (972,  Caribbean island)
  • Mayotte (976, island in the Indian ocean)

On the 1rst of January 2015, the Vienne “département” (86, Limoges area), Yvelines (78 West end part of the Parisian conurbation),  Loire-Atlantique (44 Nantes- Saint Nazaire- La Baule and surroundings), were the latest to increase its stamp duty to 5.80%, all other “departments” have done so since the 1st of March 2014 (except Cote d’Or -21, Dijon area, for which the rate is 5.75%)

Please do read our post “Buying a property in France: notaires fees and acquisition costs“, for a full explanation regarding the calculation of stamp duty and notaires fees.